Beauty in Imperfection

There is a real beauty in the imperfections of who we are.

Think of a flower and how sometimes the petals are not all perfectly shaped.  Sometimes they are a little weathered, torn, wilted.  But somehow, there is still beauty in that flower.  Despite the little imperfections.

We too are like those flowers.  With little imperfections but still holding onto a true sense of beauty.  I believe that God designed us all with these differences so that we can appreciate all the beauty there is in the world.  If we all looked the same, the world would look a little like all those robots in the 2004 movie, ‘I Robot‘ starring Will Smith; plain, identical and boring.

The world of fashion and beauty often tries to tell us what perfection is.  The shape of a lip, eyes, nose or cheekbones.  Understand that those images are often altered.  Even what the industry deems as perfect doesn’t seem to be perfect enough.

I revel in excitement when a model who the world usually doesn’t see as beautiful becomes a star because of her imperfect beauty.  Success stories like Alek Wek or Stacey McKenzie prove that the standard ideas of what beauty is can be broken.  I’ll never forget when I was modelling and a makeup artist told me my top lip was too big.  She told me I should look into getting some of the excess ‘fat’ sucked out of my top lip so that it would be perfect for photos.  I couldn’t believe what she was saying to me.  But then again, I shouldn’t have been surprised because there were so many things that I was told were ‘imperfect’.

Do you think my top lip is too big?  I don’t.  I think we are all different and that’s what makes us all beautiful in our own way.  Nobody’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

