Miss Angola Talks about Inner Beauty

Miss Angola is crowned Miss Universe 2011

 

Hosted in São Paolo, Brazil, the 60th annual Miss Universe Pageant crowned a new beauty.  Leila Lopes, Miss Angola was handed the title of Miss Universe 2011.  The 25-year old student is also an advocate for HIV, social issues and fighting poverty.  Having already worked in these areas, she plans to use her role as Miss Universe to make a bigger difference in her home country and around the world.

Although beauty pageants are largely based on physical characteristics, she took a moment to acknowledge the importance of accepting who you are.  During the final round of questioning the remaining finalists, Lopes made reference to inner beauty.  When asked, “If you could change one of your personal characteristics which one would it be and why?”  She answered by saying, “Thank God, I’m very well satisfied with the way God created me and I would not change a thing.  I consider myself a woman with inner beauty.  I have my principles.  I have acquired many wonderful principles from my family and I plan to follow this through the rest of my life.”

This was the perfect opportunity on such a big platform to bring out the importance of inner beauty.  This is an issue that faces so many girls and women around the world.  Loving who we are.

 

 

Leave a Reply

