Found a Gray Hair, Now What?

It’s funny how until it happens to you, it’s not really a passing thought.  I’m speaking from a woman’s point of view.  You may or may not agree but, discovering gray hair is more of a life-changing experience for women than men.  Think about it.  In the world’s media, men are looked at as becoming more distinguished and attractive as they age even with speckles of gray hair.  Women are encouraged to color, color, color and hide those grays.

Look at CNN‘s Anderson Cooper with his full head of white/gray hair.  If he were a woman, he’d be told to dye the hair when the first sign of gray came in.  I can’t think of a woman in media (high-profile) with a full head of gray hair.  There are very few.  Hmmm…I’m thinking.  Oh yes, actress Helen Mirren and Jamie Lee Curtis recently let herself go gray.  Can you think of some more?  It’s not often you see this.  Women risk losing work in media if they don’t do everything possible to slow the aging process.

As for myself, I have to admit, I don’t want the gray.  I don’t think I’m old enough to have that.  I actually discovered the first one a year ago.  The second hair I found while in the change-room with the 3-way mirror at H&M.  I saw the back of my outfit then the back of my head with one long gray.  My sister incidentally pulled it out thinking it was lint in my hair two weeks ago.  Ouch!  I have often stared at the one in the front almost like I am willing it to go away.  One day it was gone!  It must have fallen out.  I was excited.  Of course it showed back up later.  But, I do know genetics plays a role.  I know someone who has had gray hairs since she was a teenager.  Some friends started to see gray in their late twenties.

Stacy London, Host of television series What Not To Wear has allowed her signature gray streak to shine through.  She’s working it in her Pantene Pro-V commercials.  It hasn’t stopped her but, it’s not a full head of gray just yet.

Have you found any gray?  What did you do?  Nothing? Dye?  I’d love to hear your story.

~Ivy

What Not To Wear's Stacy London lets her silver streak shine through.

Leave a Reply

