Being Different

Today I came across a website that is called Girls of Height.  I randomly came across it through a twitter feed.  The site is dedicated to embracing the beauty of being tall.  I identified with this website immediately because I am tall.  I have been 6’1″ (185cm) since the age of fifteen.  It’s been quite the challenge at times and it took me until my early twenties to really embrace who I am.

Most of the early awkwardness came from being different from everyone else.  I was always the tallest in my class.  At times I was even taller than my teachers and even the school principal.  Imagine being a girl and feeling so left out because of height.  It seems silly but it’s so true.  But if it wasn’t my height, I am sure it would have been something else.

Always towering over others...that's me.

We live in a world where we’re always trying to fit in.  People always talk about wanting to just be normal.  I like what best-selling author and PR guru Kelly Cutrone says, Normal Gets You Nowhere.  Which, happens to be the title of her latest book.   I think that standing out and being different is beautiful its own right.  Everyone has something uniquely different about them that makes you shine.

Remember, there is beauty in being different.  Don’t ever be afraid.

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

~Ivy

Leave a Reply

